Work no. 2, 250 mm x 400 mm, 2021

Retro Collection, Jay Horan

The work was inspired by how eight of the bodies orbiting the sun in our solar system were classified as planets by the International Astronomical Union (IAU). As of 16 August 2006, the IAU recognised the following bodies in our solar system as planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Beyond Neptune, a newer class of smaller worlds called dwarf planets are found, including Pluto. The portrayal of colours and interconnecting elements is how my interpretation represents these planets in our solar system.

Written by Jay Horan


International Astronomical Union. (2006, August 16). The IAU draft definition of “planet” and “plutons” [Press release]. 

The Energy of Eight